01 August 2013

Continuing Professional Development (CPD) -formerly known as Continuous Medical Education (CME) for DHA License Renewal

For nurses who would like to renew their DHA license, the following are the requirements for Continuing Professional Development (CPD) -formerly known as Continuous Medical Education (CME)

-15pts every year

- Generally no less than 70% of CPD Points requirements shall be in the area of the professional specialty and 30% can be in the area of general professional development
-it could be Lectures,Courses,Workshops,Symposia / Conferences / Congresses,Enduring educational products; such as online CPD

-no more than 5pts from online

-it should be within the year of renewal

Within the United Arab Emirates:

  • Medical Education Department (MED) in DHA
  • Ministry of Health (MOH)
  • Health Authority Abu Dhabi (HAAD)
  • Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, UAE University.
  • Regional and International CPD accreditors recognized by DHA include, but are not restricted to, the following bodies:

Within the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC):
  • Ministry of Health, Bahrain
  • Kuwait Institute for Medical Specialization
  • Ministry of Health, Oman
  • Ministry of Health, Qatar
  • Saudi Commission for Health Specialties

  • American Council of Continuing Medical Education
  • American College of Family Physicians
  • Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada
  • College of Family Physician of Canada
  • European Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education
  • American Nurses Credentialing Center
  • American Council on Pharmaceutical Education
  • Singapore Medical Council 
To read more, here is the link:

1 comment:

  1. Very informative article, Which you have shared here about the DHA License Renewal. I couldn't find any knowledge on this matter prior to. I would like to thanks for sharing this article here. dha exam for doctors